Professional Learning Action Group


This action group was exploring ways to collaborate, create and offer professional learning experiences for teaching faculty and instructors in BC’s PSE institutions. Using a professional learning framework, this group aimed to create multiple pathways faculty and instructors can undertake (at low cost, online and/or within the province) to engage in enhancements to their practice for successful student learning. This action group came together with other action groups to focus on the Festival of Learning for the 2016 year.


  1. Liesel Knaack (Vancouver Island University) – Chair
  2. Beverlie Dietze (Okanagan College)
  3. Julia Denholm (Capilano University)
  4. Grant Gregson (Emily Carr University of Art & Design)
  5. Janni Aragon (University of Victoria)
  6. Susan Crichton (University of British Columbia Okanagan)
  7. kele fleming (University of British Columbia)
  8. Tracy Kelly (BCcampus)


  1. Draft Professional Learning Framework (PDF) and Explanation of Framework (PDF)
  2. Brief from Professional Learning Action Group: For November 12 BCTLC Fall Meeting (PDF)


  • June 9 Spring Council (F2F) – Summary of Discussion PDF
  • August 20 (9:00 – 10:30 am Skype)
  • September 21  (9:00 – 10:30 am Skype)
  • October 19 (9:00 – 10:30 am Skype)
  • November 9 (9:00 – 10:30 am Skype)
  • November 12 (all day F2F Fall Council Meeting)